Department of Biomedical Engineering

Latest news

Good news in the first week of school - New appointments and promotions

Prof Lim Chwee Teck has been appointed as the Acting Director of BIGHEART and has relinquished his duties with effect from 1 January 2018. Prof Leo Hwa Liang is our new Deputy Head (Admin and External Relations).

In addition, Dr Mrinal Kanti Musib has been promoted to Senior Lecturer and Mr Muhammed Abdurrahiem has been upgraded to grade EP5.

Senior Tutor received the first MRS Bulletin Postdoctoral Publication Prize

Senior Tutor, Andy Tay Kah Ping, was selected to receive the first MRS Bulletin Postdoctoral Publication Prize. This award recognizes postdoctoral researchers for their intellectual merit, the impact of their research and scholarship, and their interest in science writing and communication.

9th Asian Cyclodextrin Conference (9ACC), 14 - 17 December 2017

ACC focuses on all aspects of cyclodextrin research and aims to construct strong partnerships centred in Asian and Oceanian regions. This year, 9ACC was co-organized by the Department of Biomedical Engineering, NUS and the Biomedical Engineering Society (Singapore), and held at NUS University Hall Auditorium.

BME student won Best Poster Award at 5th Asia-Korea Conference on Science and Technology 2017 (AKC2017)

Congratulations to Ms Lim Su Bin! AKC is the signature event for Korean Scientists and Engineers Association Chapters in Asia-Pacific region and this year it was organized under the theme, "The Fourth Industrial Revolution in Asia-Innovations of Tomorrow".

Public lecture at NUSS - 'Engineering the Future of Medicine'

In his capacity as Inaugural NUSS Professor, Professor Lim Chwee Teck's NUSS Professorship lecture explores current advances in medical technology innovation, artificial intelligence and big data. Photo taken from NUSS

Sweeping win at EMedic Global 2017

Our department won 4 out of 6 awards at an international student competition dedicated to promoting client-centered inventions in the field of biomedical engineering.

BME Safety Day 2017

BME Safety Committee organized annual Safety Day event on 29 Sep 2017.

NUS-BME students at 2017 Summer by Design Programme

BME PhD students, Ms Liang Yeshi and Mr Ernest Tan, attended the month-long workshop co-organized by University of Toronto. Read about their experiences and their insights from Yeshi's interview.

BME Professor featured on cover page of NUSS magazine

Professor Lim Chwee Teck has been featured on the cover page of NUSS magazine - The Graduate - in their Oct-Dec 2017 issue. He is the first full-time professor at NUS to be conferred the NUSS Professorship. Read about his story and the motivations behind his work below.

Recipient of "RAPS The Community Leadership" Award

Congratulations to Ms Jacqueline Monteiro, who is one of our DCC (Department Consultative Committee) member, for being awarded the inaugural "RAPS The Community Leadership" Award!

This award recognizes Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society (RAPS) members who have built networks, supported regulatory professionals in their communities and partnered with other organizations to further the profession.

BME Safety Day 2017 on 29 September

The registration is now open! BME staff and students can register using the link below.

Dr Chen Chia-Hung and Mr Dinh Ngoc Duy featured on Wiley's YouTube video

Dr Chen's and Mr Dinh's work on a novel high throughput light-directed assembly method at the microscale has been featured in a YouTube video. Dr Chen is currently in charge of the Integrated Microfluidic Biotechnology Lab

Two BME faculty members won ATEA at University Awards 2017

Congratulation to Dr Alberto Corrias and Dr James Kah on winning the Annual Teaching Excellence Award during University Awards 2017! The ATEA is awarded to faculty members who have displayed a high level of commitment to their teaching.

BME postgraduate received Toshihiko Tokizane Memorial Award

Congratulation to Mr Andy Tay for being awarded the Toshihiko Tokizane Memorial Award for his thesis at the Japan Neuroscience Society meeting! This Award applauds excellent graduate studies in the field of neuroscience and thereby encourages young researchers and promotes further development of research in the field.

Andy also has recently received a scholarship from the Phi Beta Kappa Association in UCLA and a travel award from the New York Academy of Sciences for his idea to use microfluidics in food related technologies. He is currently pursuing his PhD in UCLA.

BME Welcome and Awards Day 2017

Our newest members of the BME community!

Commencement 2017

A big welcome to our latest alumni - The Class of 2017!

Connect with us on Facebook!